Are pumpkins fruit?

A pumpkin, from a botanist‘s perspective, is a fruit because it’s a product of the seed-bearing structure of flowering plants. Vegetables, on the other hand, are the edible portion of plants such as leaves, stems, roots, bulbs and flowers. From a culinary perspective it’s considered a vegetable.