What sports coat and a pink carnation?

A white sports coat and a pink carnation was the height of style in the late nineteen fifties. A white shirt, black pants and either black patent or blue suede shoes completed the outfit. Sometimes a tie almost as narrow as a shoe string was worn. Brylcream held the hair in place.