What makes a pokemon normal.type?

In Pokemon, the Normal type has been engineered to lack any offensive or defensive advantage: offensively it hits no types super-effectively but two types resist it and one is immune to it, while defensively it resists no types (but is immune to one), while one type hits it super-effectively.