What is a substitute for cod fish?

Cod is the classic choice for making Fish & Chips, however, you can deep fry other fish fillets. Halibut is expensive, but superb fried in batter; while Rockfish is an adequate substitute, though the texture will be different. Salmon can also be used, but has a distinct different flavor.