Was spencer tracy in world war two?

Tracy enlisted in the Navy together when Tracy turned 18. He was sent to the Naval Training Station in Illinois, where he was a student when World War I came to an end. He made the rank of seaman second class, but never went to sea and was discharged in February 1919