When did they find the edmund fitzgerald?

From May 20 to 28th 1976, the U.S. Navy dived on the wreck using its unmanned submersible, CURV-III, and found Edmund Fitzgerald in Lake Superior lying in two large pieces in 530 feet or 160 meters of water.