What's in a gyptian cobra?

The uraeus was an ancient Egyptian symbol of a reared snake (generally a cobra) found throughout their art but most notably attached to the very front of pharaohs' crowns. The snake in this form was a symbol of the goddess Wadjet, an ancient protective deity of Lower Egypt.