What is a swirling dervish?

A Dervish is a member of a Sufi Muslim order who has taken vows of poverty and austerity. They first appeared in the 12th century and were noted for their dancing and whirling rituals. The Whirling Dervish term has come be be used to describe dust or sand swirls.