What was the smallest animal that ever lived?

Several species of Myxozoa (obligately parasitic cnidarians) never grow larger than 20 μm (0.020 mm). One of the smallest species (Myxobolus shekel) is no more than 8.5 μm (0.0085 mm) when fully grown, making it the smallest known animal