Is a spider an invertebrate?

Yes, spiders are invertebrates. They belong to the phylum Arthropoda, which includes insects, spiders, centipedes, millipedes and crustaceans. Invertebrates lack a backbone and have an exoskeleton made of chitin. They have jointed legs and two main body parts; the cephalothorax and the abdomen.