Is asparagus related to bamboo?

The simplest answer is no. They are both plants, yes. At the third branching in their family tree, they are both in the Liliopsida class. At the next branching they split, bamboo being in the Poales order, and asparagus is in the Asparagales order. At the genus branching they are widely diversified.