What happens when you mix corn starch and water?

Try making a mixture of cornstarch and water called oobleck. Oobleck is a non-Newtonian fluid; it has properties of both liquids and solids. You can slowly dip your hand into it like a liquid, but if you squeeze the oobleck or punch it, it will feel solid.