How far can we see into space?

With the unaided eye and under the right conditions, we can faintly see the Andromeda galaxy. This galaxy is about 2.5 million light-years away. This is generally recognized as the farthest space object humans can directly see. A very dark and clear sky, well away from lights, is necessary.