How long does it take to run a dishwasher?

Dishwasher Normal Run Time. It is normal for some dishwashers to run for up to two hours or more under certain conditions and on certain models. On select models, the timer display or dial will stop for long periods (up to one half hour) during the wash and dry cycles while the heater is activated.