What was the watergate scandal about?

The Watergate scandal was a major U.S. political scandal, lasting from 1972 to 1974, that came from the arrest of 5 men who burgled the Democratic National Committee (DNC) HQ at the Watergate office, Washington, D.C. on June 17, 1972. Later President Richard Nixon tried to cover up his involvement.