How is heavy water made?

Heavy water are made of deuterium, a hydrogen isotope. Ordinary water contains about one deuterium atom per 6500 hydrogen atoms. Various chemical processes can be used to separate the less volatile deuterium, most notably electrolysis, sending an electric current through water, and distillation.