Who invented the rubber chicken?

it is not clear. Joseph Grimaldi, a British white-face mime who routinely would stuff his costume with rubber food props, including a rubber chicken produced for comic effect. another account attributes the 1st use of a prop chicken to John Holmberg, a Swedish black-faced clown of the early 1900s.