How do you catch a scallop?

Scallops that you eat are the adductor muscle of a marine bivalve. They attach themselves to stationary or rooted objects such as sea grass, divers find them and detach them. They are shipped to restaurants in water. Pried open, adductor muscle cut from the shell and the rest is discarded.