When do babies start to see?

At birth an infant can detect light and motion, then can make out faces and large shapes. By the end of the first month, a baby can make eye contact and focus on objects about 12 inches away. By the time a baby is 3 to 4 months old, he can distinguish between colors and focus on smaller objects.

---

At birth an infant can detect light and motion, then can make out faces and large shapes. By the end of the first month, a baby can make eye contact and focus on objects about 12 inches away. By the time a baby is 3 to 4 months old, he can distinguish between colors and focus on smaller objects.

---

At birth an infant can detect light and motion, then can make out faces and large shapes. By the end of the first month, a baby can make eye contact and focus on objects about 30 cm (1 ft) away. By the time a baby is 3-4 months old, it can distinguish between colors and focus on smaller objects.

---

Baby sees in black & white. At 8 weeks most can focus on their parents’ faces. At 3 months baby’s eyes should follow things around. At 4 months he gets color vision. By 1 year he can judge distances well & will see pretty clearly, but his vision won't be fully developed until he's 3 to 5 years old.