What's the most rain ever recorded?

The biggest rainfall in a day occurred with the passage of Cyclone Denise in Foc-Foc, La Réunion, an island in the southern Indian Ocean. Some 71.8 inches of rain fell over 24 hours, from January 7 to 8, 1966.