What is virtual reality chat?

VRChat is a free-to-play massively multiplayer online virtual reality social platform. It allows players to interact with others as 3D character models. It supports the Oculus Rift, Oculus Quest, HTC Vive, Windows Mixed Reality headsets and the Valve Index, though none of them are mandatory to play.