What shape is a train track?

The main part of a railroad track is rails. Most modern rails have a profile that shaped like an I-beam vertically symmetric but horizontal asymmetric. To meet the needs of turnout, large bridges, and seamless lines and other structures, non-axisymmetric rails are produced as well.