What is the meaning of dishes?

A dish is generally something that food is eaten or served from. A plate tends to refer to a flat dish that is suitable for holding food that does not have a high liquid content. The other common type of dish is a bowl. Dishes can also refer to different types of food, which are served on, dishes.