What's the difference between a cyclone and a hurricane?

Hurricanes, cyclones and typhoons are all basically the same type of storm; their names depend on where they appear. Hurricanes form over the North Atlantic and Northeast Pacific Oceans. Cyclones form over the South Pacific and Indian Oceans. Typhoons are formed over the Northwest Pacific Ocean.