What is the country made of seventeen thousand islands?

Indonesia's most fertile land is on the island of Java. Indonesia is a vast equatorial archipelago of 17,000 islands extending 5,150 kilometers (3,200 miles) east to west, between the Indian and Pacific Oceans in Southeast Asia.