What was the epidemic in nineteen eighteen?

The 1918 influenza pandemic; known as the Spanish flu, was an unusually deadly influenza pandemic. It infected an estimated 500 million people around the world, about 27% of the then world population. Estimates of deaths vary greatly, but a 2018 estimate set the total deaths at 17 million