What constitutes a slur?

Slur, can be used both as a verb or a noun. It means, to speak, or the act of speaking indistinctly, so that sounds or words run into one another. In music it means legato. Another meaning is, an insinuation or allegation about someone that is likely to insult them, or damage their reputation.