Why does an apple turn brown?

Apples turn brown when bruised or cut because of enzymatic browning.” When an apple is injured (or cut into pieces), the plant tissue is exposed to oxygen. This triggers an enzyme known as polyphenol oxidase (PPO) to oxidize polyphenols in the apple’s flesh.