Why is tennessee called the volunteer state?

Tennessee is known as The Volunteer State, a nickname some claimed was earned during the War of 1812 because of the prominent role played by volunteer soldiers from Tennessee, especially during the Battle of New Orleans.

---

After Tennessee representative and famous forntiersman Davy Crockett died at the battle of the Alamo, Sam Houston led an Army of Tennessee volunteers to fight for Texas independence. That's when Tennessee got the nickname "The Volunteer State" and the city of Houston was named after Sam Houston.