Why is tennessee called the volunteer state?

After Tennessee representative and famous forntiersman Davy Crockett died at the battle of the Alamo, Sam Houston led an Army of Tennessee volunteers to fight for Texas independence. That's when Tennessee got the nickname "The Volunteer State" and the city of Houston was named after Sam Houston.