What's the difference between a parka and a jacket?

Parkas are designed for very cold weather and extend below the waist, usually covering the buttocks. Jackets are designed for milder weather and usually stop slightly below the waist. There are exceptions, such as the Eisenhower jacket with stops slightly above the waist.