What does it mean when a cat sneezes?

The most common cause of persistent sneezing in cats is an upper respiratory tract infection usually due to viral infections. Unlike in humans, allergies are not a common cause of sneezing in cats- but if your cat inhales something irritating he or she may sneeze.