How hot can lava be?

When lava first erupts from a volcano, the temperature is between 700 and 1,200 degrees Celsius or 1,300 to 2,200 Fahrenheit.

---

When lava first breaks the surface of the earth it can range in temperature from 1300 to 2200 degrees Fahrenheit.