What is the scorpios rex made of?

It's revealed in episode 4 that the Scorpius rex gets its name from the scorpionfish family as part of its genome is made up using scorpionfish DNA. As seen in the series, the Scorpius rex has a number of quills and spines that protrude from its head, neck and back.