What's a substitute for cream of mushroom?

Depending on the recipe and the flavor profile you want, you can substitute a white or Bechamel sauce for cream of mushroom soup. If you want the mushroom flavor, add the liquid from jarred mushrooms to the white sauce in lieu of some of the other liquid before cooking..