What oil to cook steak in?

The best oil has a high smoke point and does not overpower the natural flavor of the meat. Avocado oil, refined olive oil or light olive oil, sunflower oil, canola oil, and grapeseed oil are best for searing steak. I’ve included clarified butter since it adds an extra depth of flavor to the steak.