How long has italy been a country?

Italian unification (In Italian: uniˈta ddiˈtaːlja), was the political movement that consolidated different states of the Italian peninsula into the Kingdom of Italy. The process began in 1815 with the Congress of Vienna and was completed in 1871 when Rome became the capital.