How do you open a tailgate that won t open?

To open a tailgate that won't open, be sure the vehicle is unlocked. Some auto locks will lock the tailgate also. If stuck, try spraying a little lubricant such as silicone or other spray oil or WD-40 on the hinges and along seams where the tailgate meets the body panels.