What is e. m. c. square?

It's an equality which states the relationship of mass, or M, to energy, E. C refers to the speed of light.

---

e equals m c squared is the formula Albert Einstein deduced to describe the amount of energy released when mass is converted to energy. It is the basic formula for the theory of relativity.

---

Albert Einstein’s theory of relativity that expresses the fact that mass and energy are the same physical entity and can be changed into each other. In the equation, the increased relativistic mass (m) of a body times the speed of light squared (c2) is equal to the kinetic energy (E) of that body.