Why are polar bears so slow?

It is just an illusion to think polar bears are slow, perhaps due to their size and movement. Just like any top predator, polar bears can strike with lightening speed with huge claws with unmatched power. Even polar bear cubs can strike their keepers and do severe damage if not handled properly.