How long does it take to defrost a turkey and water?

Place turkey in its original wrapping in sink and cover with COLD water. Change the water every half hour to maintain the temperature. Allow half an hour per pound to defrost the turkey. Most turkeys will take from 5 to 10 hours to thaw.