Is san francisco an island?

In the United States, San Francisco California is a metropolis on a peninsula, on the south side of the entrance to San Francisco Bay. It is not an island, although it does encompass some small islands within its jurisdiction.

---

San Francisco is not an island, it is a peninsula with the San Francisco Bay on one side and the Pacific Ocean on the other. Theres 18 islands in San Francisco Bay, including Alcatraz, Yerba Buena and Angel Island. The Golden Gate and Oakland - San Francisco Bay Bridges make it seem like an island.