How do horses go to sleep?

Despite common belief, horses often lay down to sleep if they feel safe and protected in their environment. Foals and younger horses tend to sleep laying down most often. Horses also can and do sleep standing up, with their limbs locked to support their bodies and avoid wasting muscle energy.