What was the first n. h. l. hockey team?

The very first two teams to play a match in the National Hockey League were the Montreal Wanderers and the Toronto Arenas. The match took place in Montreal on December 19th, 1917. Montreal beat Toronto by a score of 10 goals to 9.

---

Montreal Canadiens The NHL, founded in 1917, had a lineup of teams that was continually in flux during the first two-plus decades of existence. The first NHL teams were the Montreal Canadiens, Montreal Wanderers, Ottawa Senators and Toronto Arenas.