What is the elodea?

Elodea is a genus of 6 species of aquatic plants often called the waterweeds described as a genus in 1803. Classified in the frog’s-bit family, It is native to the Americas and is also widely used as aquarium vegetation and laboratory demonstrations of cellular activities. It lives in freshwater.