What part of the pig is a pork loin?

The pork loin is the area between the shoulders and the back legs on the upper portion of the pig.

---

The area between the shoulder and back legs is the leanest, most tender part of the animal. Rib and loin chops are cut from this area, as are pork loin roasts and tenderloin roasts.