Why doesn't tarzan have a beard?

According to Tarzan of the Apes author Edgar Rice Burroughs, Tarzan knows that he isn't an ape as he's interacted with local natives who are beardless. He sees facial hair as a "degrading emblem of apehood" and shaves with a knife he found in his deceased parents' cabin.