What is the fukushima nuclear disaster?

The Fukushima nuclear disaster was a melt down of nuclear reactor cores at the Fukushima power station in Japan. After an Earthquake caused the reactors to shut down a tidal waves knocked out the emergency generator that power the cooling system and the reactors exploded.