What does chlorine do?

According to chemicalsafetyfacts.org: Chlorine is added to the water to kill germs. When it is added to a swimming pool, it forms a weak acid called hypochlorous acid that kills bacteria like salmonella and E. coli, as well as germs that cause viruses such as diarrhea and swimmer's ear.