Who owns the land in an hoa?

Generally, in areas managed by an HOA, or homeowner’s association, the homeowners own the land associated with their property. Common areas, like parks, clubhouses, fitness centers or playgrounds, may be owned by the HOA, though sometimes that land may be owned by the city or town.