How do you tell when a honeydew melon is ripe?

The ends of the honeydew provide signs of maturity. A fresh and sweet smelling aroma present at the stem end indicates ripeness; the more aromatic the scent, the sweeter the melon.

---

Press the end opposite the stem with your thumb and it should feel slightly springy with a slight give. If it's rock hard, it's under ripe, and if it's total mush, it's definitely past its prime